Weaving on a Rigid Heddle Loom

I learned how to direct-warp on a rigid heddle loom at the Studio 66 Retreat. Direct warp on the loom is so simple, I don’t know why it isn’t the default method for warping on a rigid heddle loom. I took a weaving class last year and could not remember how to do crosses on the warping board and it went downhill from there.

I bought a 24-inch Kromsky Harp rigid heedle loom at the Woolery and after a few mishaps with the first two set ups, I took a BIG plunge and warped the most gorgeous yarn in my stash: 100% hand dyed silk that I bought long ago from The Village Spinning and Weaving store in Solvang. Silk takes dye beautifully and this yarn is a blend of deep violet, blue, and copper. A good dye job is a work of art and paying a large sum of money for this yarn was my homage to this great local dyer. But this yarn has been languishing for at least seven years in my stash and despite my various attempts to knit it, the swatch was lifeless and unstable. Little did I know that it has been screaming at me all this time, “I want to be woven!”

Dimenstion: W12.5″ by L60″

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in Weave. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weaving on a Rigid Heddle Loom

  1. Vickie says:

    Simply beautiful!

Leave a Reply

