Sock Machine Stand

The sock machine stand for the Simplex costs $300 and it is way beyond my budget. Some sock crankers use stools or workbench, but I find neither options suitable for my taste. They are either too low and unstable for the stool or too ugly for the work bench. After exhaustive search at hardware and home stores, I’ve finally found the perfect stand at a reasonable price and promptly anchor the sock machine on it. What I most love about it is that it doesn’t have a cross bar at the bottom that can interfere with the weights.

Check out the bunny in the background!

Notice my very crude heel fork (wrapped with extra-large screw by masking tape). It’s not refined but works every time. The trick is to place it at least two inches below the heel and use your left hand to push down and at an angle away from the heel.

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in CSM. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sock Machine Stand

  1. Laurie says:

    The thought of the Simplex fascinates me. What is the difference between it and a regular NZAK? You have a great set-up! Everytime I see someone else’s AK, I want to start cranking RIGHT NOW!

  2. knottyewe says:

    The Simplex is a no-frill NZAK. It doesn’t have the heel lifter or the candy stopper (I don’t even know their uses). The Simplex offers a less expensive modern alternative with a variety of readily available cylinders. Since both my Legare 400 and Creelman are antique machines, their parts are limited. To knit a pair of socks that fits all the women in my extended family, who have “Cinderella” feet, I have to do a Frankenstein switch of the Creelman cylinder on the Legare cam. I’m hoping the Simplex can solve that problem.

  3. Dixie says:

    What is the stand and where did you get it?

Leave a Reply

