Fiber Club

I’m pretty much a loner, I mean, a lone knitter or spinner. I work on my own schedule and hardly need the encouragement of others or feel that I have to be part of a team for motivation. Other spinners or knitters prefer the comradely of a group to push the project along. There are KAL (Knit Along) for all kinds of projects on the web. The more difficult the project, the more members. However, I broke the rule for Crown Mountain Farm fiber club because this club forces me to spin wool from different varieties of sheep. Most of spinners are used to spinning Merino and Blue Faced Leicester wool, but not familiar with wool from unusual breeds of sheep, such as Lincoln, or Teeswater.

Each month, each member gets 4 oz. of wool. Members can select from 58 colorways or the surprise color of month. I join for just two months, so I get to spin Targhee for May and Lincoln for June. The Targhee sheep was breed right here in the US for quality wool and meat.

Here’s 4 oz of Targhee in colorway Ishkur

Chain-ply, sport weight. I love spinning with Targhee. The fiber length is long, springy and almost as soft as merino. Great for socks!

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in Spin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

