E-Wrap Selvedge

There are various ways to knit a cuff on the sock machine. The one that’s most familiar to beginners is the hang hem what requires no ribber and it is my preferred method. Another method requires the ribber and uses the in/out switches on the ribber cam to take the ribber out of use for a few rows and then put back in again. Both of these methods are quite common on commercial socks.

There is a more time consuming process called the e-wrap that provide better looking edge, but this method has been a mystery to me because the instructions in the original AutoKnitter manual is cryptic. Thankfully, a step-by-step instruction was posted on Ravelry in the Circular Sock Machine Group and I promised myself that I will post photos if I can make it work.

First, take all the needles out of work, follow the direction of the yarn carrier (counter clockwise), and wrap around each needle starting from the right side. Even though it is called a e-wrap, it is more like an &-wrap. Think of writtting an &, start from the bottom right, move up, wrap around the needle, and move down to the left.

Push the needles and the wrap down and crank (slowly).

Close up of the wrapped row and one knitted row

Insert ribber and switch cylinder needles with ribber needles.

Crank sock as usual and remove completed sock from machine. Shown here is the right side of the cuff, prior to removing the waste yarn.

Shown here is the wrong side. It’s much easier to remove the waste yarn from the wrong side. Find the purl bump and pull. Make sure you’re cutting the waste yarn, not the working yarn.

Voila! The selvedge of an e-wrap. Much neater than the in/out ribber needles and not restricted to 1×1 ribbing. Happy cranking!

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in CSM. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to E-Wrap Selvedge

  1. Kathleen says:

    Fantastic! I will have to try it.
    Of course, now I see how the e-wraps are joined to the waste yarn, so the weighting is no problem. Thanks for the demo/pictures/tutorial, Loan.

  2. Pingback: Fair-Isle on the Circular Sock Machine | Knottyewe's Blog

  3. Pingback: Welsh Country Sock Pattern on the CSM | Knottyewe's Blog

  4. Pingback: Big Boring Man Socks (Fortissima) | the Soxophone Player

  5. weaver'sw says:

    Your blog has really helped me finally get a viable sock from my machine. I would like to know what yarn you use for scrap/cast-on yarn, and where you got your slotted yarn carrier. My Legare came with a yarn carrier with only a hole in it. Love your blog, your photos are fabulous as well as your craftsmanship on the socks, beautiful!

    • knottyewe says:

      Hi there,

      Sorry about not replying sooner. I cut my yarn carrier using a hack saw to make a slotted yarn carrier. Yikes, but it’s true. We’re not working on a museum piece so I’ll do anything to make my machine more functional. If you’re in Ravelry, check out my project for a Slotted Yarn Carrier. I’m AKA Knottyewe in Ravelry. For scraps, I used acrylic yarns on a cone, but lately, I’ve using scrap yarn from previous socks.

Leave a Reply

