Cone Yarn for Socks

In the age of heavily discounted and mass market merchandising where one can get a pair of wool socks for less than $7, most people would think circular sock machine owners are somewhat eccentric. We pay $1,000 for the machine, $6 to $25 (gasping!) just for the yarn, spend countless hours to learn how to make a decent pair of socks, and more countless hours to crank a perfect pair (yipee!)

When I first ventured into buying a sock machine, I had a perfectly rational excuse that I could never hand knit fast enough to dwindle down the piles of sock yarns that accumulated in the stash. Well, three sock machines later and my stash is twice the previous size, plus another pile of finished socks waiting to be given away. Instead of being elated to receive socks for Christmas, my friends and relations feign surprise and happiness.

So for the last few years, I’ve been buying reasonable priced yarn from cones to knit for charities. My favorite source for reasonably priced cone yarn is at angoravalley.com, either the angora/merino or the wool/nylon. I put up 3 plies, and crank them on the 72 or 64 cylinders and toss in the washer. The merino/angora socks come out soft, fluffy, warm and luxurious. The wool/nylon isn’t as soft but more durable. They will be heading to The Ships Project later this year.

Merino/Angora on a 72 cylinder, heels and toes in Wool/Nylon.

Wool/Nylon on a 64 cylinder, heel and toes in MCN.

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in CSM. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cone Yarn for Socks

  1. amy says:

    Lovely, as always! Those gray socks are quite handsome. A CSM is definitely on my two-buy list. Hopefully before the end of the year!

  2. knottyewe says:

    Thank you for your comment. I would recommend browsing the sock machine groups in Ravelry and Yahoo before making the commitment. There is a steep learning curve but the reward is so worth it.

    BTW, I checked your blog and your hand knitted shawls are lovely.

  3. Jackie Lee says:

    Hello,
    I am very happy to have stumbled on your website.
    I am also a cranker and spinner -although more cranker than spinner these days.
    I’m in San Diego. Where are you located?
    Beautiful socks…
    I also actually enjoy cleaning and dying fleeces.
    None of my family or friends “get it”

    Jackie Lee
    Yogamom 05@sbcglobal.net

  4. Jackie Lee says:

    Did you make your blockers?
    J

  5. knottyewe says:

    Yes. The sock blockers were made from plastic place mats purchased at Target. They cost just a few dollars and transform your knitted socks from home-made to store-bought.

Leave a Reply

