Plying for color

While spinning the merino/silk top hand painted from Bee Mice Elf, I gave considerable thoughts about the best way to ply to preserve the colors. I thought about fractional spinning for gradual color change, and the pros and cons of having a 2-ply or a 3-ply yarn on color preservation. Laurs has made considerable effort to paint the wool top with her color ways and the last thing I want to do is to turn it to mud. I’ve come to the conclusion that chain-ply or Navajo Ply is the best way in my situation to preserve the bands of distinct colors in hand painted rovings. This is a revelation for me but probably old news for others. So I went back and added more twist to the single to withstand the rigorous handling of yarn for chain ply and plied the single. I’m pleased with the way it turned out. The colors are clear with pops of blue for contrast.

The skeins might look the same, but one is spun across the width, but the other was spun by splitting the rovings into four lengths.

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in Spin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

