Yarn for Aeolian

The Aeolian shawl has been my favorite ever since it was published by Knitty.com. It is graceful, delicate, challenging but also fun to knit. It incorporates nupps from Estonian lace and beads for drape and elegant. I bought the beads promptly from Earthfaire but the yarn has not called to me.

After two years of indecision (knitters sure take their time!), I settled on Luna and Silky Alpaca Lace. After another two months of indecision, I decided with swatch both yarns to help me make up my mind. I’m looking for a shawl that floats in the air but also has drape for movement.

And the winner is… Luna! It is impossible for the camera to capture the shine, softness, and elegance of Luna, in fact, the camera refuses to AF on it. I had to focus on the Silky Alpaca Lace and move the camera to the center to take the photo. The only downside to this yarn is that it is unforgivable with mistakes. Mohair likes to be embraced and once a loop is made, it does not want to unravel. Definitely not for beginner lace knitters.

I’m enjoying the pattern and it is easy as soon as I finally nailed down the k1, YO, Purl, YO, k1 (I will post that tip later).

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in Knit, Lace. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

