Red Finch

I have a huge respect for people who shoot wildlife photos. They are eternal optimists and have the patience of a saint. They would sit in an outhouse for days, sometimes under freezing or burning weather hoping to get a one-in-a-million photo of the animal. I’m a lazy photographer so I’ll take anything outside my window. I live in the mountain and there seems to be a zillion little birds tweeting while I try to sleep (I wish they would shut up!). So what’s difficult about taking pictures of birds? Well, they are skittish, they don’t follow directions, and I don’t have a telephoto lens that can shoot the moon.

But I can afford bait and trickery. I went to the store and bought eight pounds of bird seeds and a remote shutter release so that I can take pictures without touching the camera. I put the camera on the tripod about four feet from the feeder, hid behind the curtain and waited. Yawn! Either my tripod looked like a scarecrow or there were plenty of food else where, but only a few showed up and they were quicker than a flash.

This little guy is a red finch (I think). The yellow ones are more common but they don’t take the bait.

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red Finch

  1. Ronny Dudasik says:

    Bird seeds are great because they provide nutrition to every specie of birds. I always stock bird seeds at home. *”,,:

    Most current short article straight from our own web-site
    http://www.caramoantravel.com

  2. Johanna Beene says:

    Bird seeds are really nice since they can make your bird grow healthy and fit. ‘

    <a href="Most interesting post on our own online site
    http://www.caramoantravel.com/caramoan-beach-resort/

Leave a Reply

