Spinning Double Drive

I’m a new spinner and I like Scotch-tension than double-drive wheels. The Scotch-tension brake system allows spinners to control separately the flyer and the yarn take-up. Most modern wheels have the ability to do both but most antique wheels can only do double-drive. I love spinning on the Canadian Production wheel, but this wheel spins super fast and the double-drive system provides little control on the yarn take-up. Another added inconvenience is that the flyer has hooks on the opposite sides so I am unable to cross lace in the traditional method. This wheel demands an advance spinner and I’m still very much a beginner.

My friends at the guild suggested changing the cotton cord to a much thinner nylon cord for more slippage and this helps a little. Thicker yarns also give me little trouble but as soon as I want to spin lace, I’m frustrated again. After various attempts to cross lace such as looping through the arm(s) of the flyer or looping through hooks on the other side, I think I have “unvented” another way to loop around the next hook that will slow down the take up. The loop acts like a brake and gives me more time to draft. This seems to work well with the smooth merino/silk and worsted yarn, but might not work as well with short fiber and woolen spinning.

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in Spin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

