Surfcity Marathon 2011

I was up at 4:20 a.m. today to watch Toan run the Surf City USA Marathon in Huntington Beach. This little marathon has balloon to 18,000 runners in less than ten years due to good organization, generous sponsorships, scenic course and I guess, the great recession.

I took my camera with me to take photos of the runners and the beach.

The Starting line a little after 6:30 a.m.


The winner of the 2011 Surf City USA Marathon.


Surfing, of course. In case any wonder how I got the photo below (and no I don’t have wings), I was directly on the pier above.


This is the photo for my 365. Instead of a glamorous photo of the pier, I decided to highlight the rust railing at the lifeguard station.

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surfcity Marathon 2011

  1. myphotoscout says:

    I like the rusty shot. The subject is unusual and the framing is done perfectly.

  2. knottyewe says:

    Wow! I’m floored. Your photos of places to shoot at California Photo Scout are amazing. Thank you for your comment. It means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

