Later Half of 2011

The later half of this year went by like an adrenalin rush. I was bored at my current job and asked to transfer to another group for a more “challenging” assignment. I took a not so well managed function and hoped to energize it because it would be interesting and exciting. Well, six months into the job and I was slammed with an audit by the state and federal government. Record keeping was dismal, furthermore, our retention record policy is three-year, while the audit requires five years of data.

A daily headache, plus waiting for the last commuter bus among the homeless in downtown, and then rise-and-shine at 5 am to catch the first bus into downtown became the routine for the last few months. My brain was hyperactive with stress and retaliated by making me senile. I lost my Blackberry (that’s a good thing), and left my laptop on the bus. Furthermore, I was frustrated with the bureaucracy and superficial support from senior management. And the ordeal isn’t over as the auditors will be back in January.

But, I should be thankful as this year has been a blessings. Toan found a job, Vinh is enjoying Berkeley, Minh is finishing high school with good memories, and Kroger is sweet under my feet. To celebrate Christmas, I went on a hike in Topanga in Red Rock Park. The sun is out, the sky is blue, and the trail ahead makes me happy.

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in Family, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

