Micro Four-Thirds

I love my Nikon D7000 dearly, but man, it is heavy especially when I’m playing a tourist or mountain hiker. By the end of the day, my beloved becomes a brick and I want to leave him home.

You probably have noticed that one of the links I listed on my blog is Chasing Light. His images using a point-and-shoot camera are so much better than most images taken by a camera with a four-digit price tag. Check out this image of a church interior using a Lumix LX5. This picture was taken in the dark, but still captured the sharp details, brilliant colors and wide angle. I have camera envy and have been keeping my eyes out for a more portable camera to fit inside my purse.

I have a long list of requirements for a portable camera but my budget is not. It must have a real depth of field (so point and shoot cameras are out), large sensor, built-in flash, light-weight, and of course, cheap. Well, I found it at Amazon, body-only for $150 bucks! The micro four-third Olympus PEN E-PL1.

Nikon D7000, Nikon D3100, and Olympus PEN E-PL1

The Olympus E-PL1 is the less expensive version of the E-P1 because there are less buttons (hence it takes longer to make adjustments using the screen), more plastic, less sophisticated software, but for $200 less (two E-PL1s for the price of a E-P1!) and bonus flash that can bounce of the ceiling (more on that later).

Here are some snap shots of our Lady of Angels taken by the E-PL1. I want to like this cathedral but her modern lines seem unforgiving to me.

Rushing for mass on Friday morning

Lines everywhere

About knottyewe

Blogging about knitting, making yarn, and making socks.
This entry was posted in Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

